The $21 Challenge: The Parts That Sucked

CaptureSo it’s been a few weeks now since we (successfully) completed the $21 ChallengeThe final verdict, if you recall, is that it wasn’t all that difficult, really. Thanks to my tendency to food hoard stock up when things are on sale, we had a pretty good stash of food items that we were able to rely on to get us through the week.

To be honest, though, it wasn’t all sunshine and roses. There were some parts about the $21 Challenge that kind of sucked.

  • We ate fewer vegetables than usual. Veggies – especially fresh veggies – aren’t always budget-friendly. I lucked in and was able to get some things on sale (i.e. super cheap broccoli) but normally in the course of a week, we eat more fresh fruits and vegetables than we did during the challenge. We also try to do a fair bit of shopping at the Farmer’s Market, which our plan also didn’t allow for.
  • It was time consuming.  Participating in this challenge meant spending more time than usual hunting through the flyers for sale items, digging through our freezer and pantry to assess what we had on hand, and carefully meal planning. Running around to several different stores to get only the best deals. I also lost most of a Sunday on food prep – making pizza, soup, cookies, baking rolls, etc. for the week ahead.
  • Being forced to stick to the meal plan. Now, I’m normally a meal plan kind of gal anyhow, but there are times when I just don’t feel like preparing (or eating) something that’s scheduled for a particular day. When days like that do happen to pop up, it’s not an issue, I either make something different, or pick up something else from the grocery store. Staying on a strict budget doesn’t leave room for that. Of course, we did end up cheating while doing the challenge, on the night we decided to throw the plan out the window and have ice cream for dinner.
  • It didn’t allow room for a lot of fun. I’ll admit it – I like cake and cookies and ice cream and potato chips as much as the next person. I try not to indulge in those kinds of things very often if I can help it, but there’s something about being told that I “can’t” have these things that makes me want them even more. I may have spent more time thinking about Doritos over the course of the $21 Challenge week than I would have ordinarily.

So yeah…the $21 Challenge wasn’t perfect. But…and a very big ‘but’ – is that it ultimately saved us a lot of money. Sure, we ate fewer vegetables and it took a lot of additional time and effort, but I daresay that it was worth it. Especially considering the fact that this obviously isn’t meant to be an every single week thing. As a once-in-a-while thing, I’d say that it was definitely manageable. Manageable enough than in another month or two, after we’ve re-built our pantry and freezer, I think I’ll do it again.

…though next time I won’t blog about it nearly as much. Promise. 😉

Until next time,

~Kelly

 

Leave a Reply

